I Did Dry January

Becca Jameson
4 min readJan 31, 2021

And without reaching for a Heineken Zero.

2020 was a doozy of a year, there is no denying that. Like most, I was happy for it to be over. Although I wasn’t under the misconception the stroke of midnight on December 31 would magically solve a global pandemic, there is something refreshing about resetting and searching for hope in a new year. So we celebrated. And we toasted. And we partied. And I woke up on New Years Day massively hungover to kick-off the year.

Alas, we were pumpkins in 2020 and are still pumpkins in 2021. While coddling a Gatorade in bed that morning I swore off alcohol as I do whenever feeling hungover (which these days is most times I drink with my 25 year old body) and decided to not drink alcohol the rest of the month. After the holiday binder full of cheese and wine, I wanted Dry January to cleanse and detoxify me, but truthfully I wanted my pounding headache to dissipate and never return.

I listed a bunch of undefined terms above, but no, I am not joining a MLM marketing scheme. Simply removing alcohol from my diet for 30 days and here’s my experience:

As the month progressed, the social pressures were not too difficult to drink as Chicago has been shut down most of January and there were no opportunities to ‘meet up and grab a drink’ or attend a happy hour. I think this helped tremendously as I easily fall for this type of peer pressure. But the challenge came from inside my apartment when I couldn’t pour wine during the Bachelor premeir or have a glass with dinner after a long workday. NFL playoff games were in January and we couldn’t have a Sunday funday. So what do you drink while eating buffalo chicken dip watching Da Bears? LOL, orange juice.

I learned one main lesson during the month: get creative with alternative beverages because water gets BORING. Listed below were some of the winners I will continue to keep on hand as I sip my way into February:

  1. Chocolate almond milk: I’d recommend adding this to the top of your grocery list regardless of dairy sensitivity. Tastes IDENTICAL to classic chocolate milk (regular almond milk does not) and chocolate almond milk does not spoil like dairy milk. Truly a delicious treat for anyone who loves chocolate or sweets.
  2. Kombucha: Don’t let ‘fermented tea’ scare you away. Beer is just ‘fermented grain,’ gross, right? Nonetheless, kombucha flaunts many health benefits because it contains probiotics in the live culture which does wonders for digestion. It is also sparkling and comes in a variety of flavors that actually pack a punch compared to sparkling water. Kombucha tastes very comparable to a sour beer. The beverage is tasty, healthy, comes in a recyclable glass bottle, and is a no-brainer, right? The main problem here is it is expensive. ~$3-$5 per bottle at most grocery stores is an expensive beverage to reach for. However, the recommended serving size is only half the bottle so if you split the beverage into two servings it helps justify the cost. And is still cheaper than a glass of wine or a beer at a bar! (Or even getting a coffee).
  3. Orange Juice: Maybe it was just the acidity that reminded me of wine I would sip on, but it did the trick and is found OJ so satisfying. The immune boosting Vitamin C is an additional perk. I learned I love having a small glass of OJ after dinner and thought of it as a treat, this surprised me too.
  4. Sweet tea: I grew up in Tennessee, this one is inherent. Although not a healthy option, iced sweet tea is so nice in the afternoon for a caffenated pick-me-up to power through the remainder of the afternoon. PureLeaf is my favorite brand.
  5. Sparkling water: Great to reach for during a Zoom HH, to sip on at work, etc. Isn’t the most exciting beverage in the world but does add variety to your hydration methods with no added calories.

I’m proud I stuck to my commitment and completed dry January. Can’t exactly say my overall health improved or anything crazy but I never woke up feeling groggy or hungover. My Sunday mornings were purposeful and enriched throughout the month; a habit I’d like to maintain throughout this year. Along with the chocolate almond milk. Cheers to 2021!

--

--